’tis the season to be signing…

I have recently discovered that signing along to Christmas carols is a fun way to improve my signing speed, as well as my ASL grammar. Since the songs are familiar, I can anticipate which words are going to be needed next, and then remember how those signs are formed in time to use them.

Keeping up with the tempo and speed of the song forces me to sign quickly, and also to think of the signs quickly. My fingerspelling and recall have both improved with practicing dialogue set to music.

Learning to sign an entire song as accurately as possible also encourages me to learn more signs so that I can reproduce most of the song’s lyrics. It is also great practice for deciding when to substitute a sign for an English word that is not an exact translation but a close approximation.

Signing to music is a fun way to practice because not only am I learning new signs and becoming more fluent in the ones I already know, but I can also enjoy some of my favorite music while practicing.

Leave a Reply

