networking

At the church I attend on Sundays, there is a section for deaf and hearing impaired with two interpreters working in the front of that row. I was able to sit there this past Sunday and watch them partner work. They had the benefit of being able to see the minister’s Power Points on a screen in front of their chairs but they still had to be able to sign extemporaneously from his actual speech.

I enjoyed watching them, and after service was over was able to have a conversation with one of them. She invited me to sit up closer to the front than I had been and even to join the professionals in signing along with a song if I wanted to. While it may be some time before I feel confident enough to sign all of an actual song, I am very excited by this opportunity to engage and practice my lessons in an actual interpretation setting.

Leave a Reply

