first day of class

Today was my first official day of ASL class! I finished my first online lesson in fingerspelling and I’m also learning a useful working vocabulary of basic phrases like “Nice to meet you” and “What’s your name.”

I picked up several important tips about fingerspelling. Some of the most useful to me were one about how to sign double letters in a world by either opening the hand slightly between letters or bouncing the hand slightly to the side to sign the second letter, and also a section on how to read fingerspelling.

When reading, the best way to understand a fingerspelled word is to watch the whole word, not individual letters, just like reading print. This allows for faster understanding and an ability to read signs more rapidly.

I’m very excited to be beginning my first official semester of ASL study, and I can’t wait to begin practicing with other people as well.

Leave a Reply

