branching out

I started working with a new ASL program yesterday in addition to the free online courses through StartASL. My second lesson program is a DVD based program called Learn and Master Sign Language.

So far, I have finished one lesson and found this to be a very helpful program. Although the first lesson was familiar to me since I have already had a basic introduction to ASL and finger-spelling, it would have been excellent for a true beginner.

I think this program will be helpful as I learn to read and not just sign ASL, and the videos also include sections on Deaf Culture, which I found very interesting. One of the instructors is deaf, and is able to offer valuable insights on how a hearing person can respectfully interact with Deaf people.

Leave a Reply

