wrapping up the year

My first semester of learning ASL is coming to a close, and I’m excited by everything that has happened since I started. I had no idea when I first got interested in sign language that my passion would take me as far as it has. I’m very glad, though, that it has.

Since beginning this adventure, I’ve inspired my family to take up ASL as well, especially my younger brother, who has been enjoying learning it very much. I had no idea that my interest would get my family interested too. It’s been fun practicing with my family and I look forward to spending more time doing that over the few weeks I’ll be home after school.

I also met some amazing new Deaf friends at my college, who I probably never would have become so close with if I hadn’t found out about and joined the sign language learning club they started. It’s been amazing to spend time with other people as interested in learning ASL as me, and to hear about sign language and Deaf Culture from people who are a part of it.

Last but not least, I’ve interpreted my first events, two services at my local church. It was unexpected and unplanned, but I enjoyed the new experience and it has helped me build my confidence, as well as convincing me that interpreting is a passion I could see myself pursuing further.

When I started learning ASL at the beginning of the semester, I had no idea how far it would take me or the amazing experiences it would open me up to. I’m excited to see what’s next, if this year has already been so amazing!

Leave a Reply

