back to school

I’ve started the first week of my junior year of college, and I’m excited for the first meeting of the sign language club in a couple weeks. In the meantime I ‘m practicing on my own and with my family when I video-call them.

It’s hard for me to believe that a year ago, I had no idea that I would ever learn sign language. I am still amazed that ASL has become so quickly such a large part of my life, and I am grateful to everyone who has had a part in my ASL journey so far.

Looking back at the progress from last year makes me vary excited for this year’s potential. Now I have on-campus connections, friends to practice with, and even interpreting experience sometimes at the local church. My signing has come a long way since randomly tossing a book of elementary-level sign language into my college packing last year, and thinking I would never actually take it up.

Sign language has given me the chance to meet people I would otherwise never have been able to communicate with, challenge my own fears and limitations , and allow me to gain a deeper understanding of the things I love and am passionate about. I have no idea what this coming year has in store, but I know that it will definitely be amazing.

Leave a Reply

