once you learn…

I have been so busy this semester that I have not had a lot of time to work with the signing at my church. Today I was able to actually participate. Although the regular signers were not there and there were no deaf people attending the service today, I still signed. I didn’t sit in the front, just in my regular pew.

I practiced signing with the entire service today, not just the songs, and I noticed that I am becoming faster with my signs and my ability to keep up with the speaker. I still struggled sometimes to stay on top of the speed of the message and to remember all the signs I needed to, but I was surprised by my own abilities, especially with a lack of practice.

I was glad I was able to do so well at signing today, and I hope that soon I will be able to help the interpreters with the service as well as the songs. I had been thinking it would take much longer for me to have the skills necessary to do that. I certainly do need to learn more and practice more before I am ready for that ind of commitment, but knowing that I am becoming ore capable as an interpreter was very encouraging.

I have come a long way since starting to learn ASL last year, and it surprises me when I look back and think that a year ago I had no idea that learning would take me where I am now. I never expected to actually begin to interpret so early, even if it was a bit of a surprise to me as much as anyone else, and I could not begin to imagine that ASL and the Deaf community would become such an integral part of my life. I’m excited to see where this next year takes me, because if the last one is any indication, I have no idea what’s in store!

Leave a Reply

